PDA

View Full Version : Is it worth it?

V.O
06-19-2012, 09:25 AM
I got a box of goodies my buddy sent me he wasn't using for is Honcho. As most of you know I a totally RC NOOB and have no clue if any of it is worth trying to install on my wraith? My plans for the wraith are to keep it true to its Rock Racer breed but just make it better. In a perfect world I would like to have it be a slightly better crawler & also not loose any top speed. So with that in mind do you all think it is worth it to put in a "venom 550 35T motor" with the VSC240 esc?

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c100/JeepJosh125/100MEDIAIMAG1384.jpg
http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c100/JeepJosh125/100MEDIAIMAG1385.jpg

Thanks in advance & sorry if this is a dumb question, I'm still learning :brickwall:

bbking9
06-19-2012, 10:06 AM
hey VO. well i have never heard of that esc - so I cant comment. i can tell you that the 35t motor may help you crawl a little better - but it will be SLOOOWWW. It will no longer be a racer. One thing that will help you crawl better and it id free - move your battery up front. get more weight up front.

What esc, motor and battery are you running on your Wraith right now? Once we know this info we can figure out what you need.

Generally speaking - you want to run a 540 size motor in your Wraith. You can run a 550 size - but you may have to do some dremeling to make it fit.

EDIT: here is a link to that ESC http://www.venom-group.com.au/vsc-240-brushed-electronic-speed-control/

The fact that it sells for $25 leads me to believe it is likely one you wont want to use. It looks like it will not run the 550 motor that you have since
the specs say 540 motor 8 - 23T. You have a 550 motor that is 35T.

V.O
06-19-2012, 10:13 AM
Right now I'm running the stock esc & 20T motor that comes with the RTR version of the wraith w/ a 5000mAh NIMH battery.

bbking9
06-19-2012, 10:26 AM
I am presuming it is a 2s lipo and not a 3s lipo - correct.

V.O
06-19-2012, 10:30 AM